Michigan Trout Unlimited is the coordination and representation for 20 local chapters of TU and over 8,000 individuals, devoted to the conservation, protection and restoration of Michigan's coldwater fish and their watersheds.
Michigan TU Board Login

Michigan TU

Core Activities

Michigan Chapters

Support our Work!

Trout Unlimited

Contact Us

Michigan Chapters (Entire State)
Michigan TU News:

The Fred Waara Chapter of Trout Unlimited has its home in Marquette, Michigan which is located in the north-central Upper Peninsula. We have 250 members and we meet on the first Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m. at the Boardroom at the Landmark Inn, at 230 N. Front Street, Marquette, MI. Our elections take place at our October meeting and currently our officers are:

President: Jim Cantrill, (906) 249-9518, jcantril@nmu.edu

Vice President: Jerry Maynard, (906) 249-3598, jerome.maynard@gmail.com

Treasurer: Tim Robenalt, (906) 249-4557, trobenalt@aol.com

Secretary: Doug Miller, (906) 345-9372, swampycamp@wildblue.net

"Riffles to Rises" - Our Newsletter

Virtually every stream in our area is a beautiful cold-water trout stream and we are in proximity to a great many of these; some in the Lake Superior watershed and some in the Lake Michigan watershed. These streams include the Yellow Dog, Salmon Trout, Chocolay, Escanaba and Laughing Whitefish. Many of our streams have steelhead and salmon runs. We believe we are very active in conserving, protecting and restoring these streams through a variety of endeavors.

Throughout our history we have been improving stream habitats by restoring brook trout spawning beds, installing and cleaning sediment traps and removing tag alders and beaver dams. For many years our chapter has partnered with the MDNR in the replanting several walk-in lakes in our area using both fixed-wing aircraft and helicopters. More recently, we have worked with the Northern Michigan University Biology Department and the National Park Service in restoring coaster brook trout in several streams in the Pictured Rocks National Lake Shore. These efforts included planting, tagging and tracking these coasters. This year we were awarded an Embrace-A-Stream grant to acoustically monitor the coasters in the off-shore environment at the mouths of these streams.

We have also been active in education. For several years our chapter has provided the equipment necessary to sponsor three Salmon-In-The-Classroom projects at between one and three local area schools. Over the years, we have partnered with a variety of local organizations to have youth fishing days. We sponsor a sub-chapter on the Northern Michigan campus. We have set up an annual fellowship grant for a student in a fisheries program at an Upper Peninsula University.

The money needed to finance all this work is, for the most part, raised at our annual banquet. Traditionally this banquet has been on the Friday of the week prior to the opening day of trout season. Besides a dinner, there are door prizes, raffles, a silent and verbal auction. We also award the fellowship grant. While the objective is to make money for all of our endeavors, it has been observed that members and guests may occasionally have a libation or three and be coerced to tell a fishing tale.

Our efforts have been recognized. In 2002 our chapter was the State Council Chapter of the Year. In 2003 we won the Silver Trout Award from Trout Unlimited. In 2004 we received the Clean Waters Award from the Michigan Outdoor Writers Association.

Not bad for a bunch of Yoopers, eh?

The Two Heart Chapter meets the third Wednesday of month January through October, 7:00 pm, at the Tahquamenon Sportsman's Club, E. Victory Way, Newberry, Michigan.

Bob Moody
13936 CO Rd. 443
Newberry, Mi 49868
Email: Bob Moody

Vice President
Dave Mitchell
307W Ave. C
Newberry, Mi 49868
Email: Dave Mitchell

Secretary/Website Chairman
Lynda Rutledge
N7789 Millecoquins Lake Dr.
Engadine, MI 49827
Ph: 906-477-0035
Email: Lynda Rutledge

Richard Kujula
P.O. Box 434
Newberry, MI 49868
Ph: 906-293-5550
Email: Richard Kujula

Publicity Chairman
James Diem
209 W Truman
Newberry, MI 49868
Ph: 906-293-3537
Email: James Diem

Membership & Education Chairman

Patrick Doyle
45700 Gainsboroug
Canton, MI 48187
Ph: (517) 202-4184
Email: Patrick Doyle

Ann Arbor (127)

Visit Their Website

Chapter President President - John Zolan, 2950 Devonshire Rd., Ann Arbor, MI 48104, (734) 975-0234
Email: John Zolan

Chapter Representative - Rick Hall, 1603 Morton Ave., Ann Arbor, MI 48104, (734) 662-5569
Email: Rick Hall

Challenge (222)

Visit Their Website

President - Jim Zyla, 10414 Elgin Ave., Huntington Woods, MI 48070, (248) 546-4842
Email: Jim Zyla

Chapter Representative - A. Daniel Cronin, 25251 Brookview, Farmington Hills, MI 48336, (248) 474-7184
Email: A. Daniel Cronin

Clinton Valley (249)

Visit their Website

Chapter President - Jason Davis - 164 Scarlet Oak, Oxford, MI 48371, (248) 535-6201
Email: Jason Davis

Chapter Respresentative - Matt Niemiec - 208 Lincoln Ave, Clawson, MI 48017, (616) 402-0565
Email: Matt Niemiec

Frank "Bob" Perrin - Lansing (018)

Visit Their Website

Chapter President - Jim Bedford, 1804 Wood Street, Lansing, MI 48912, (517) 484-5178 (H)
Email: Jim Bedford

Chapter Representative - Dick Augustine, 1329 Poppy Ln., Dewitt, MI 48820, (517) 668-3761
Email: Dick Augustine

Paul H. Young (022)

Visit Their Website

Chapter President - Matt Cullen, 2085 Cumberland, Rochester Hills, MI 48307, (586) 208-9214
Email: Matt Cullen

Chapter Representative - Wayne Cook, 20233 N. Riverhill, Clinton Township, MI 48306, (586) 322-2559
Email: Wayne Cook

Vanguard (378)

Visit Their Website

President - Larry Butts, 14773 Ashton Ln , Utica, MI, 48315, (248) 408-8595
Email: Larry Butts

Chapter Representative - Eli Stanesa, 3321 Paddington Dr., Troy, MI, 48084, (248) 709-7949
Email: Eli Stanesa

Below you will find information to help support Michigan Chapters.

Michigan TU Awards

Program Objectives

The awards program of the Michigan council of Trout unlimited recognizes those chapters, members, and other individuals who in the previous calendar year have significantly advanced, promoted, or demonstrated the values and objectives of the Michigan Council. The purpose of these awards is to recognize the contributions of these individuals or groups, and also to encourage others to emulate their achievements.

Awards vs. Inductions

The only award granted by the Michigan council is the annual chapter of the Year Award. Other recognitions are inductions into various orders of honorary groups. Inductions are permanent and therefore re-induction (receipt of the same award more than once) is neither necessary nor appropriate.

Membership Resources

Charles A. Fellows (709)

Visit Their Website

Chapter President - Tom Reiter, 41272 Carriage Hill Drive, Novi, MI 48375
Email: Tom Reiter

Chapter Representative - Chris Poulos, 621 W. Court St., Flint, MI 48503, (810) 252-4777
Email: Chris Poulos

Leon P. Martuch (250)

Visit Their Website

Chapter President - Josh Jenkins, 809 Crescent Ct., Midland, MI 48642,
Email: Josh Jenkins

Chapter Representative - Tom Monto, 2401 Louanna, Midland, MI 48640, (989) 631-1939
Email: Tom Monto

William B. Mershon (020)

Visit Their Website

Chapter President - Todd Zwetzig, 1600 Carla Dr., Essexville, MI 48732, (989) 225-2478
Email: Todd Zwetzig

Chapter Representative - Don Albrecht, 3511 Hickory Lane, Saginaw, MI 48603, (989) 245-5819
Email: Don Albrecht

Pere Marquette River (933)

Visit Their Website

Chapter President - Tom McGraw, 2075 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084, (248) 217-9715
Email: Tom McGraw

Chapter Representative -

Make a donation to Michigan Trout Unlimited today! Donate Now!

Connect With Us Today

Michigan Trout Unlimited is active on the following Social Media sites